

















His Excellency Hassan Rohani President of the Islamic Republic of Iran Palestine Avenue Azerbaijan Intersection Teheran Iran

Freiburg, 10 December 2020

Dear Mr. President,

the city of Freiburg has maintained a close partnership with the impressive city of Isfahan for over 20 years.

This partnership is special for several reasons.

It is special because we benefit from a good professional exchange in the fields of business, environment and science.

It is also special because there is an impressive number of direct contacts - in the cultural, university, sports and civic areas. This partnership does not just exist on paper, it is lived by the citizens. Citizens from Freiburg, visiting Isfahan, are always deeply impressed by the great hospitality and warmth of the people of Iran.

And finally, this town twinning is special because it is the only town twinning between an Iranian and a German town.

The relationship between Freiburg and Isfahan is a fine example of such an important international understanding. Our town twinning allows us to get to know each other's

culture. It helps us understand other points of view. And it gives us the opportunity to address things we do not understand.

In the summer, we received news in Freiburg that five students from Isfahan - namely Mehdi Salehi, Majid Nazari, Mohammed Bastami, Hadi Kiani and Abbas Mohammadi had been sentenced to death. In Germany, as you know, we are against death penalty. The fate of the five young men from Isfahan moves many people in Freiburg - precisely because many direct and good contacts exist through our town twinning.

Therefore, we - the Lord Mayor of Freiburg and the members of the Freiburg City Council - address you directly.

Dear Mr. President, we ask you kindly and respectfully to stand up for the review of the death sentences against the five students.

We would be very grateful if the death sentences could be lifted.

We sincerely hope for your support and send you kind regards from Isfahan's twin city Freiburg.

Best regards

Martin W. W. Horn Oberbürgermeister

gezeichnet

Anke Wiedemann

Annabelle von Kalckreuth

B90/ Die Grünen

Julia Söhne

SPD/Kulturliste

Dr. Carolin Jenkner

CDU-Fraktion

Michael Moos

Angelina Flaig

Gregor Mohlberg

Linke Liste - Solidarische

Stadt

Sascha Fiek

FDP/BfF

Dr. Johannes Gröger

FW-Fraktion

Dr. Wolf-Dieter Winkler

FL-Stadträte